• Hi Guest!

The costs of running this forum are covered by Sea Lion Press. If you'd like to help support the company and the forum, visit patreon.com/sealionpress

Operation Doomsday - Research Thread

Skinny87

en.wiki veteran (Airborne Warfare Wikistar)
Patreon supporter
Published by SLP
Pronouns
He/Him
To avoid cluttering up the main thread for my planned novel, Operation Doomsday, I've decided to start this thread for my research, planning and any reader comments

I'm just beginning to realise what I've let myself in for, developing something that was going to be a vignette into what will hopefully become a full novel; and I need to be doing a lot of research and reading before I can get too far into it

I have enough material on 1st Airborne Division on my bookshelves, so that angle is covered, but I wondered if anyone could suggest good reading material for any of the following subjects:

Norway during the German occupation
Oslo during the German occupation
Memoirs set during either of the above (in English!)
A map of Norway circa 1945
A map of Oslo circa 1945
Visual guide to Oslo circa 1945
German units in Norway during the period, especially Luftwaffe

Btw, I wrote the Operation Doomsday wiki page, so I have all the materials referenced there!

Cheers for any help anyone can give

Last edited:
I just finished Agent Zigzag, the Eddie Chapman biography which goes into a bit of detail on occupied Norway. Probably more in line with worldbuilding than anything too technical but there might be some useful snippets there. I think it might be free on Kindle Unlimited but if not I can always post you my copy.

I just finished Agent Zigzag, the Eddie Chapman biography which goes into a bit of detail on occupied Norway. Probably more in line with worldbuilding than anything too technical but there might be some useful snippets there. I think it might be free on Kindle Unlimited but if not I can always post you my copy.